My Space – the Kitchen

I thought decisions revolving around the kitchen was going to be simple since only one person was going to be making them (me). Designing the kitchen involved reading reno-tips, reflection on my work processes, discussions with ID and asking a lot of friends. Below is a sampling of the questions that I grappled with. Good luck.

  • Do you need an built-in oven?

If you dont bake often, this is a luxury item, as it takes up valuable space in a kitchen (now kitchens all so tiny) and it isn’t cheap!! So why did I get an oven? I was a fond baker before, and in case I get back to my spirited days, I gotta have that built-in oven. If not what will happen to all my trays that I bought before. Instead of going for a high-end model e.g., Borsch/Ariston (that cost over $1000), I went for a simple one, the Fujioh FBO-9 http://fujioh.sg/oven_products.php (made in China). Borsch had  a lower-end model HBN331E2J, but it only had 5 heating methods that DIDNT have the one I wanted for baking – top and bottom heat WITH Fan (better distribution of heat). Anyway, my friend bought an Elba oven also made in China that was functioning fine and she is an avid baker. The Fujioh design also black tempered glass – looks modern too.

My Fujioh is working fine so far. I have baked more than 5 times using the oven. Plus I got a deal for the oven cos I bought a Fujioh gas stove and hob too.

wpid-img-20150122-wa0005.jpg    wpid-img-20150122-wa0004.jpg

  • What kind of stove?

As we decided to use Citygas, it was natural that I got a gas stove (as opposed to an induction stove, although some ppl do prefer induction for its quick-heating and safety features). I chose Fujioh due to their inner flame technology. I know that Rinnai has the inner flame tech too and is supposed to be made in Japan, but I read raving reviews about the FX900 hood.

So, the inner flame is really good. The pan heats up very very quickly! I still havent gotten use to how hot the flame can get, so I end up over-cooking my food. ;( I am a bit apprehensive about the hood, it doesnt seem to be as good as the reviews say, not sure if it is installed correctly…

  • Double or Single Sink?

I liked a double sink because when washing the dishes, I can put the dirty ones on one side, and then soap one by one and put in the clean side and wash the soapped dishes at one go in the clean side. Neat right? Esp if I dont really have the table top space to put all the dirty dishes beside the sink.

The side that is supposed to be bigger cannot fit very big woks/frying pan. Some people say that after a while the smaller side just becomes useless or at the most functions as a dustbin. ;(((

For me, I dont use a big wok, just frying pan, so still can fit. And I am determined that the small side wont become a dustbin.

  • Kitchen Table Top

While you have figured that I was obsessed with white, i was clear that I did not want white for the kitchen table top. I read reviews that white (even quartz or the china version quartz) is still susceptible to stains esp tumeric and curry. And I didnt want the grey/blackish granite cos I felt that it would be too dark. Our ID introduced us to Kompacplus top that is supposedly scratch-proof and dent-proof. I immediately liked the wooden colours. Bf was very skeptical cos  Kompacplus is relatively new in the market and is very thin – how could something so thin be better than granite (his fav). But that is where unilateral decision making is useful and I got the Kompacplus. Kompaccplus comes in different wood colours.

wpid-img-20140908-wa0010.jpg

I initially wanted 10.30, which I think goes very well with white and is the brightest. BUT i think it is the most popular as well. When ID wanted to buy it, it was out of stock and would only come in 3 weeks! Cant wait that LONG. So we settled for 10.40. [Pls order in advance if you getting 10.30 pls]

Final Product:

wpid-20150122_194857.jpg wpid-img-20140918-wa0001.jpg

I think that it is quite nice.I must admit that it DOES look rather thin compared to other kitchen tops. Goes nicely with white laminate for one kitchen and beige laminate for another,

Till today, Bf is still waiting for a dent or scratch.

  • Height of Kitchen Table Top

Most carpenters put the height as a default ranging from 84 – 86cm. If you have any preferences, or you are shorter/taller than the average Singaporean, pls go and measure the ht of the kitchen table top you are used to let your ID know. This one cannot change after they manufacture the cupboards etc.

  • Kitchen Backing – Subway tiles/glass/tiles?

EVERYONE, i mean everyone is laying subway tiles – all cafes have it. So pretty and very cafe style! But can you imaging the dirt and grim that get stuck in between the tiles? Very soon the white tiles will start turning yellow at the edges.. and black in between. If I haven’t mentioned, Bf also said that as I can make all decisions regarding the kitchen, it also means I am the only one cleaning it. Pls scold him for me.

Subway Tiles
Pic taken from https://www.facebook.com/Kompacplus

I was considering aluminium/metal backing (indestructible as my friend said) or just plain tiles, but I went with glass instead because I like the tinted greenish tiffany-blue like colour (although I read bad reviews that glass can possibly crack due to high heat etc etc). And there wont be the issue of grim getting trapped in between tiles.

Tip: if you are installing any rods into the kitchen wall with the glass backing, pls purchase them before hand and get your contractor to measure and drill the holes into the glass before sticking the glass on the wall

Just so much to consider for one small kitchen…

6 thoughts on “My Space – the Kitchen

  1. Hi, I am renovating my kitchen after 20years and I have just learnt of Kompacplus. Could you let me know if it is as good as it is made out to be. Did you have any issues like staining, warping, any maintenance issues etc? Thanks in advace

    Like

    • Hi Noorjahan, so far in this 5 months or so, we have not encountered any issues like staining or warping and no scratches. I believe the colour chosen will also play a part cos ours is a dark colour so less easy to stain. Hope this helps.

      Like

  2. Hi. Really love the look of your kitchen. I am also interested in Kompacplus, however can’t find many people who have installed it for more than 1 year. My husband and I are considering Quartz vs Kompacplus. After one year are there scratches/discoloration? Can it withstand high heat? As it is very thin, do the sides chip off? Thanks and hope your husband helped you clear up after your reunion dinner 😉 Happy Chinese Lunar New Year.

    Like

    • Hi hi, Happy New Year to you too!
      It has been installed for more than a year now – and so far there’s no scratches or discoloration or chips. Quite pleased with it, it has lasted thus far. However, the kitchen is not used frequently and heavy cooking is not done.

      Like

  3. Hi, thanks for your post on Kompacplus. I’m deciding between kompacplus and quartz. It has been 2 years since your post, may I ask if the top is still as good? Can your Bf find any dent 🙂

    Like

    • Hihi! Apologies for the slow response. Yes the KomplacPlus top is still in great condition =) No scratches and holds up well to sunlight too. *However it’s true that the kitchen is used lightly and we don’t do heavy cooking* Do remember to order in advance if you want 10.30. On a side note, do insist on Blum’s fittings for your kitchen cabinet if possible, the quality is worth the few extra dollars. Have a great reno journey.

      Like

Leave a comment